FCC Report Says Cable Rates Rising Rapidly


See on Scoop.itKH6JRM’s Amateur Radio Blog

 

According to a report from the Federal Communications Commission, cable bills are continuing to rise, at a rate 4 times faster than inflation, even with competition.
Why This Matters: Programming costs are big part of rising bills and according the FCC study, the price per-channel for subscribers rose 2.1% to an average of 48 cents per channel. The average monthly price for expanded basic service was $64.41 in 2012, a 5.1% increase over 2011, the regulatory agency said. The Consumer Price Index rose just 1.6% during the same 12-month period.

Russ Roberts‘s insight:

Thanks to reporter David Hall for this tasty tidbit from the FCC.  This comes as no surprise.  Frankly, I cut the cord years ago.  I can’t see paying for services I rarely use.  Besides, with the exception of a few sports, historical, and news programs, most of what I see offered holds little interest for me.  My needs are simple and my life style even plainer.  If I need a tv program, such as news or a championship game, I turn to my deep fringe Winegard TV antenna and my digital converter box.  The picture quality is acceptable for over-the-air transmissions.  If I have to see a current movie, there is always Netflix, Hulu TV, or even the public library.   As for high tech playthings, my ham shack has enough projects, repairs, and equipment to keep me busy for years.  There are too many distractions.  All of these gadgets are becoming a type of electronic "drug" that dulls the senses and removes us from the real world, ugly and disappointing as it is.  If I need a fairly cheap drug, I go to the refrigerator and grab a bottle of the local brew or, as the oldtimers once called such refreshments, an "807."  Aloha de Russ (KH6JRM).

