SOTA Therapy: Five Summits, Two Days | AmateurRadio.com


I am a week delayed in documenting this adventure, however, I had to write about it. I went back to my QTH near Santa Fe on Father’s Day weekend for some SOTA therapy. I needed to fuel my addiction. There is a great SOTA …

Source: www.amateurradio.com

Like many of us in the amateur radio world, Mike Crownover (AD5A) has become "addicted" to a certain segment of the ham universe.  In Mike’s case, it’s SOTA (Summits On The Air) operations, a practice akin to the popular IOTA (Islands On The Air) program.  On Father’s Day weekend, Mike and his ham buddies sought out some "SOTA therapy–I needed to fuel my addiction."  Over the weekend, Mike and his friends activated three summits, and in the process made an interesting and enjoyable video log of the experience.  Mike and his group used the opportunity to not only operate from the top of some remote areas, but also to check out the abundant wildlife in these isolated areas.  Operating outdoors with your closest friends can be an invigorating way to spend the weekend.  Aloha de Russ (KH6JRM).

