My Field Day 2014 Adventure | KB9VBR J-Pole Antennas


c In the 15 year’s I’ve held my amateur radio license, I’ve hardly ever missed a Field Day. I also thought I had seen just about everything that could happen or go wrong at a field day site. I’ve experienced brutal hot weather, …

Source: www.jpole-antenna.com

A near tragic chain of events nearly ruined the 2014 ARRL Field Day for reporter Michael Martens (KB9VBR) and members of the Wisconsin Valley Radio Association.  Rogue winds and heavy showers nearly took out the field station and its equipment.  Fortunately, by moving equipment inside a trailer, Field Day operations for Sunday returned to "normal".  A very close call, indeed. On the plus side, cooperation got the club back on the air despite the weather.  The event had good television and radio coverage, with many people visiting the field day site.  Michael’s Field Day was certainly exciting.  Aloha de Russ (KH6JRM).

