X108 20W transceiver | AmateurRadio.com


G1KQH informs me this Chinese transceiver is available for an introductory prce of £399.99. Personally I think this is MORE than I would expect. To me it still looks like a “back shed” design. I notice this supplier has sold out.

Source: www.amateurradio.com

A quick review by Roger Lapthorn (G3XBM) of the new Chinese X108 20 watt transceiver.  Roger doesn’t think the new radio is worth the price, noting "To me it still looks like a ‘back shed’ design."  Roger adds that the "price is for the basic version without TCXO and noise blanker."  In Roger’s view, the Yaesu FT-817ND is a better value "with cash back offers, and, to my mind, is a well-proven MF-UHF design."  Roger believes the Chinese aren’t quite ready to compete in the low power segment of amateur radio.  Aloha de Russ (KH6JRM).

