Dipole and Inverted V Antenna Basics


One of the first antennas I rebuilt after the passing of Tropical Storm Iselle (o7-08 August 2014) was my trusty 80-10 meter inverted v.  The previous inverted v was torn up badly by 60-65 mph winds from the storm.  I managed to salvage most of the 450 ohm ladder line and a good portion of the antenna segments.  While I was researching for better ways to “harden” my wire antennas, I came across this helpful article by Dave Tadlock on the construction, mounting, and tuning of dipole and inverted v antennas.  While I incorporated much of Dave’s ideas, I elected to keep the inverted v as a multiband antenna, covering 80 through 10 meters.  With 450 ohm ladder line fed into a 4:1 current balun and using a short length of RG-8X coax to connect the balun to my trusty Drake MN-4 transmatch or the standby MFJ 941-E Versa Tuner II, I had an antenna capable of serving these amateur radio bands.  Each antenna element was 67-feet/20.42 meters long, giving me resonance at approximately 3.500 MHz.  With the ladder line, balun, and transmatch combination, I was able to get a 1:1 SWR on all amateur radio bands between 80 and 10 meters.  Dave’s video is well organized and loaded with many valuable hints.

You can check out the latest amateur radio news and operating events by following the news feeds in the blog sidebars.  These news articles are updated daily.

You can follow our blog community with a free email subscription or by tapping into the blog RSS feed.

Until next time,

Aloha de Russ (KH6JRM).

