How to build a simple 2 meter quarter wave antenna.


I’m still in the process of replacing several amateur radio antennas blown apart by the passing of Tropical Storm Iselle, which did heavy damage to many homes in the Puna District of Hawaii Island.  Fortunately, the home being restored by my xyl and me wasn’t damaged, but most of my wire antennas were tossed asunder.  I’ve replaced a few of my HF wire antennas, and am now working on a few simple projects until I can get more wire from Home Depot.  One thing I did lack was a decent antenna for my old Kenwood TS-2500 HT.  I found this helpful video from K7AGE, which gave me a few helpful ideas on improving the limited range rubber duck that came with the HT.  The project is simple, inexpensive, and easy to make.  Enjoy!

Aloha de Russ (KH6JRM).

 

